Go Back   Vista Help Forum » Windows Vista » Vista A/V Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2009
khasham khasham is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
khasham is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to khasham
Question xv 1000 lifecam not connected in yahoo messenger

Sorry if this has been covered. I have a microsoft xv1000 webcam, it works fine with live messenger and every other way I have tried it.
It just wont work with yahoo messenger, says no camera connected.
I have seen this question asked a 1000 times, but have never seen an answer that works, perhaps there isn't one, knowing microsoft.

I use vista home premium SP1.

at a loss, installed latest drivers, my yahoo is latest version.

not really that worried because I mainly use live messenger anyway, but want to use it with a friend in the US and he doesn't show up in Live as a video option.

anyone out there know how to get around this without tweaking registry and turning off all my usb ports etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2009
cyclic's Avatar
cyclic cyclic is offline
Agent - Level 3
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 751
cyclic is on a distinguished road
Default

sometimes this can work, start Yahoo first, then plug the camera in, if it's no good the fault lies with Yahoo's software, you can't really blame MS, their software works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2009
luckypunq's Avatar
luckypunq luckypunq is offline
Agent - Level 3
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 286
luckypunq is on a distinguished road
Default

Try turning on the lifecam using the software that came with the hardware, then starting yahoo service. download software from here.

Get the software going then try using yahoo messenger. Also try turning Yahoo off completely (from the tray and also in task manager). Then starting the service again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2009
khasham khasham is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
khasham is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to khasham
Default

I have tried both suggestions, it works at first sometimes, then says no camera connected. It does work fine with live and other things. I reckon it is a yahoo issue, but I can also blame MS because it is their hardware and their drivers.

don't see why some cams work and others don't, should be some kind of universal driver that works with all webcams.

thanks any way, might just give up, got better things to do.
would be nice just to have it work though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2009
cyclic's Avatar
cyclic cyclic is offline
Agent - Level 3
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 751
cyclic is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khasham View Post
don't see why some cams work and others don't, should be some kind of universal driver that works with all webcams
.
Good thought, but can you imagine trying to get all those different manufacturers, to agree the universal configuration that would be required ?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem of video chat with Yahoo messenger - Windows Live messenger or skype myesq Vista Malware Forum 0 11-01-2011 11:07 AM
Messenger alarmman General Vista Discussion 0 12-22-2009 07:15 AM
Can only browse sites such as microsoft and yahoo...nothing else lollipop123 Vista Help Forum 3 11-14-2008 09:39 AM
Impending Microsoft / Yahoo deal cpearson Search Engines 1 03-07-2008 11:55 AM
Almost 1000 members cpearson Site Feedback 5 10-25-2007 03:01 PM