Go Back   Vista Help Forum » Windows Vista » Vista Help Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2007
kayos's Avatar
kayos kayos is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1
kayos is on a distinguished road
Default Code 12 HELP!!

Hi everyone I'm new to this forum, and I have to say this site great. So much useful information.

Now my problem...

I just installed Vista Home Premium, looks and feels great however I have a series of code 12 "This device cannot find enough free resourses". I didn't have this issue with XP Pro..

I tried disabling devices in the bios, did a bios update, I disabled a series of other devices with no luck.

My motherboard is a Asus A7N8E-X Deluxe with AMD Sempron 2800+



I have also attached the system information. You'll noticed that I have a code 43 for my ATI as well??? I have disable the sound to try and free up resources.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (62.0 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by kayos; 06-07-2007 at 02:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2007
spastikhand spastikhand is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: england
Posts: 4
spastikhand is on a distinguished road
Default

hi mate i aint an expert i`m experiencing probs my self with my ati drivers,

but are you sure a sempron 2800 is gutsy enough to run vista i got a dual amdx2 3600+ 64bit and i only get a rating of 5.9

but again i aint an expert by any means

good luck i think we are all gonna need it .. lol
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2007
tcash11's Avatar
tcash11 tcash11 is offline
Agent - Level 2
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 183
tcash11 is on a distinguished road
Question More sys info

Unfortunatly I think that your hardware might just be a little dated and light for what vista needs to run to any level of potential. There are things with the OS that require a minimum amount of video memeory and/or RAM and processing power. Also, ATI is already the most notorious of hadware companies having problems with vista. Can you go to your control panel and select system properties, then click the hyper linked "Windows Experience Index" (what is this btw?), then on the next screen hit the link to "View and Print details". A screen shot of that will help us tell you better what hardware areas you are lacking in and what you can possibly do to help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2007
uhaligani uhaligani is offline
Agent - Level 3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 296
uhaligani is on a distinguished road
Default

This is sometimes "Horses for courses". I have an ATI 9600 Pro. (256mbs) it only gives me a 3.6 rating. I have not had the slightest problems since early beta days.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
text in code Marie Vista Help Forum 0 09-18-2009 12:01 PM
1394 Error Code 12 wavz1 Vista Hardware Forum 8 08-08-2008 04:53 AM
Code Complete cpearson Programming 2 01-08-2008 12:11 PM
Firewire Code 12 Error in Vista Wintercoast Vista Hardware Forum 0 11-24-2007 01:46 AM
Vista R2, Code Name: Fiji tcash11 General Vista Discussion 3 12-31-2006 05:33 PM