Go Back   Vista Help Forum » Windows Vista » Vista Installation Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2007
striderlps striderlps is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
striderlps is on a distinguished road
Default Vista load error "preparing desktop" after repartition.

Hi,

I'm a newbie here - after finding vistahelpforum by googling for support forums for my particular problem. I hope someone in this community might have some ideas for me... Smile

So after having a stable and successful dual-boot with XP and Vista Ultimate 32Bit for several months now, I got over-confident.

After a long night getting the kids to sleep, etc etc, I had the bright wee hours of the morning idea that I could quickly increase my Vista partition size as it was getting a little light (it shares an internal HDD with another drive letter) and promptly stuffed my Vista boot.



Setup = C:\ XP Boot (original OPSYS). V:\ Vista Partition (shared on same drive as D:\)

What I did...

* Booted into XP, loaded Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.
* Resized D:\ (shrunk by 25GB) and Resized v:\ (increased by 25GB).
* Applied actions.
* Had a PC lock-up in XP some time later, reset PC.
* Boot error - no Windows Vista found (load original disc).
* Loaded Vista disc and used "r" option. Located vista partition, repaired.
* Vista Booted (had rundll.exe error or something similar) and died.
* Re-booted, hit F8 and selected "last known good config." Vista ran lengthy disc check. (Noticed Vista volume was now H:\ not V:\ ???)
* Re-Booted- Vista loaded to login. Keyed password, and "preparing desktop" appeared.
* My desktop and startup programs fail to boot and I get stuck in a plain blue empty screen with cursor only. CTR-ALT-DEL accesses Task Manager or log-off / shutdown screen but I have an incomplete load of vista and no profile.

I have re-checked the Vista Drive in XP and it is all there (profile/data/opsys etc). However, when I boot back to command prompt in Vista - V:\ has become H:\ as mentioned. No wonder my profile/desktop/start-up and Vista doesn't kick-in properly!

Anyone know the safest way to fix this? I reckon that if I somehow change the volume letter from H:\ to V:\ within the Vista boot everything will "reload" normally.

Acronis is installed under XP boot, and I have a BART PE boot disc, the Vista boot Disc and a GNOME Part. ED image I can burn also... Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance,
Striderlps.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2007
striderlps striderlps is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
striderlps is on a distinguished road
Default

I think the problem I have is that running the Vista Boot Disc with repair option - bypasses the boot setup on my HDD. Therefore, Vista does not see my XP install on my C:\. Also, I cannot access the repair option from the Vista Disc within my XP boot - as opposed to the "install" options which I originally did to install Vista dual-boot.

This means that my V:\ (visible in my XP boot as V:\) is reassigned when I select Vista in my start-up boot options. It then becomes H:\. This stops all my apps, profile and Vista botting properly - hence the plain blue vista screen after "preparing desktop".

When I boot to XP, and load Acronis or Disk Management in XP, C:\ is an "active" partition with my XP Boot & System files.

However, V:\ (a primary partition shared with D:\ on a 320GB HDD) is not an "active" partition.

If I make v:\ active in XP, will this help when I try and reboot and select my Vista boot ?

If not, how can I (from within XP) lock Vista to recognise the system drive as V:\ and not assign it's own letter ?

Hopefully there is a way to avoid a full reinstall and +apps +config +updates....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error message: "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog" myesq General Vista Discussion 0 09-19-2011 02:11 AM
"Error Saving the wireless profile" chanveil Vista Networking Forum 0 01-27-2011 03:06 AM
"Failed to Connect" error... DAMtastychicken Vista Networking Forum 1 07-07-2009 11:15 PM
2nd hard drive files "you need permision to acess the file" or "need admin permision" jordanios Vista Hardware Forum 2 03-28-2009 03:58 PM
Error: "specified command search directory bad" Jeff Leopard Vista Help Forum 0 09-09-2007 04:50 AM