Go Back   Vista Help Forum » Windows Vista » Vista Installation Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2008
Mittenman88 Mittenman88 is offline
neophyte
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Damascus
Posts: 1
Mittenman88 is on a distinguished road
Default Trouble installing Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit.

I recently purchased Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit, hoping to install it on my PC. Unfortunately, my computer is unable to read it.(Because my current OS is 32-bit) I was told the only way it could be install is by loading the boot DVD. I've booted my PC, pressed F11 and gotten into the boot device menu, once there I selected to boot from my CD/DVD Drive. It took me to a black screen with a blinking dash in the upper left corner. Then proceeded to boot Windows XP 32-bit. Microsoft support says my system can be upgrading from XP 32-bit to Vista 64-bit. So I have no clue what i'm doing wrong. I'm in desperate need of help!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2008
cyclic's Avatar
cyclic cyclic is offline
Agent - Level 3
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 751
cyclic is on a distinguished road
Default

You need to enter the BIOS setup menus and change the first boot device to be the DVD\CD, but your current system being 32 bit does not prevent it from reading a 64 bit installation disk. When the PC boots to a DVD\CD there should be a screen prompt to say 'press any key to boot to CD' it wont just do it, even though it's set to boot to it first (it's so that during the installation the windows setup will need to reboot and on those occasions you don't press a key to make it boot to the disk or it will just restart the setup, leave it and it will boot to the hard drive), anyway if for some reason that message about pressing a key to boot to CD is not showing, when the cursor is blinking on the blank screen, press any key then, you will hear the disc spin up in the drive if the command has been accepted.

However all that is only required when you are installing from scratch, if you are upgrading you just let the PC boot as usual, then put the disk in the drive and let it autorun, if it does not browse to the disk and click the setup icon, then follow the instructions. As MS say you can upgrade which doesn't involve booting to the DVD.

Last edited by cyclic; 12-29-2008 at 10:21 AM. Reason: Terrible spelling again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would a 32 bit Windows key work for 64 bit version? supershibbydude Vista Help Forum 1 07-23-2009 07:30 PM
Need some help with Vista Home Premium 64-bit. CamWH Vista Help Forum 4 06-02-2009 05:53 PM
Using 32 bit IE7 with 64 bit Vista dizzy7 Vista Help Forum 9 01-29-2009 12:03 PM
Windows Vista Startup Repair [Home Premium 32-bit] sparkie Vista Help Forum 2 11-19-2008 11:06 AM
Windows Vista 32 or 64 bit for Pentium 4 640 Mirey86 Vista Help Forum 2 06-04-2008 11:12 PM